• UMBC
  • We Are UMBC
  • Academics & Admission
  • Arts & Culture
  • Athletics
  • Library
  • Research

Model United Nations

Description

Being an academic simulation of the United Nations that aims to educate participants about current events, topics in international relations, diplomacy and the United Nations agenda. The participants role-play as diplomats representing a nation or NGO in a simulated session of an organ (committee) of the United Nations, such as the Security Council or the General Assembly. Participants research a country, take on roles as diplomats, investigate international issues, debate, deliberate, consult, and then develop solutions to world problems.

Constitution

Officers

President: Stanley Wang
E-mail: stanley6@umbc.edu

Vice-president: Yasmin Majali
E-mail: yasmin4@umbc.edu

Treasurer: Zhiheng Wang
E-mail: zwang4@umbc.edu

Secretary: Mark Gabriana
E-mail: mgabri3@umbc.edu

Co-Head Delegate: Daniel Noppinger
E-mail: dnopp1@umbc.edu

Head Delegate: Malcolm Heflin
E-mail: heflin1@umbc.edu

Secretary-General: Shelby Davis-Prettiman
E-mail: sdavis15@umbc.edu

Advisor

Cynthia Hody
E-mail: hody@umbc.edu